Skip to content

NORP in disguise

February 21, 2011

working as a professional in an office environment has been an interesting experience. In RL I have long displayed to the world an eccentric or unusual appearance, allowing NORPs to easily identify me as the odd ball that I am and ignore or safely make fun of me from a distance. However, in an office environment, wearing business casual, my despicable, nerdy core is hidden ‘neath the khaki camoflage of banana republic. Under these circumstances I can see people’s initial confusion and eventual realization as their initial impression of me as a fellow NORP begins to crumble. I struggle at times to keep up appearances but the longer I know someone the more comfortable I feel about “being myself” – hastening the decay of my NORP facade. I have even had work associates remark at how deceptively “normal” i appeared for so many months until they discover, for instance, my tattoos…”I never would have suspected” they say, havingly only scratched the surface of my geeky depravity.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Your memory card reader should be visible under ‘Devices with Removable Storage’.
    When you use the ‘Safely Remove Hardware’
    option, you are telling Windows that you are stopping all the
    read and write activities from the external drive so that it can be
    safely removed from the computer. Or maybe a friend promised to pay you back the money he owes you
    and you need proof in case you need to take him to small claims court in
    the future.

Leave a Reply

